Share this event

Additional details

Doors open: 19:30

James MacMillan Viola Concerto
(world premiere)
Mahler Symphony No. 6

Vladimir Jurowski conductor
Lawrence Power viola

After the first performance of his Sixth Symphony in 1906, Gustav Mahler could be found sobbing, wringing his hands and pacing frantically in his dressing room. He’d realised that what he’d written offered no escape. This compelling 80-minute orchestral journey ends in resolute tragedy – perhaps the first symphony to paint such a resoundingly dark picture of the human soul with such astonishing purpose and effect. It remains a live music experience like no other, and is preceded in this concert by the world premiere of a new concerto for viola and orchestra by James MacMillan.

Lawrence Power is a British violist, born 1977, noted both for solo performances and for chamber music with the Nash Ensemble and Leopold String Trio.

GENRE: Classical music


1 person was there