Share this event

Additional details

Doors open: 19:30

Kodály Dances of Galánta
Grieg Piano Concerto
Dvorˇák Symphony No. 7

Andrés Orozco-Estrada conductor
Rudolf Buchbinder piano

When the London Philharmonic Society asked Antonín Dvorˇák for a new symphony in 1884, the composer knew he had to deliver something special. In the resulting Seventh, the doubts and frustrations Dvorˇák experienced as a composer are defeated by music of compelling argument, triumphing over its own nervous energy in the final bars with a glorious plunge into the brightness of D major. Before it come two firm orchestral favourites: the aching poise and flowing melody of Grieg’s Piano Concerto and Kodály’s rumbustious, colourful dances on themes from the small Slovakian town of Galánta.

Tickets £9 – £39 (Premium Seats £65)