Share this event

Additional details

Doors open: 19:30

Mendelssohn Violin Concerto
Bruckner Symphony No. 3(1889 Nowak edition)

Stanisław Skrowaczewski conductor
Benjamin Beilman violin

When his musical guiding light Richard Wagner died, Anton Bruckner set about creating a symphonic memorial to the composer who had inspired him more than any other. The first version appeared in 1873, but it took 16 years of fine-tuning before Bruckner’s Third Symphony was just how its composer wanted it – a monolithic memorial that feels intimate and deeply personal, too. Mendelssohn didn’t rush the creation of his Violin Concerto, either. Seven years in the making, Mendelssohn’s exquisite journey through passion, agitation and celebration must have seemed, to its dedicatee the violinist Ferdinand David, like the perfect gift.

Tickets £9 - £39 (Premium Seats £65)

1 person was there