Share this event

Additional details

Doors open: 19:30

Tour name: London Philharmonic Orchestra | Tansman, Stravinsky and Górecki

Tansman Stèle in memoriam Igor Stravinsky
Stravinsky Violin Concerto
Górecki Symphony No. 4 (world premiere)

Andrey Boreyko conductor
Julian Rachlin violin

In 1940s Hollywood, the Polish composer Alexandre Tansman met and befriended Igor Stravinsky. It was a close, respectful relationship that Tansman captured in his musical memorial on Stravinsky’s death three decades later – a touching elegy containing a rhythmic tour-de-force that would surely have made the Russian smile. Stravinsky paid homage to his own musical mentors Bach and Mozart in the poignant games and conflicts of his acrobatic Violin Concerto. Finally, this concert offers a true musical event – the first performance of a symphony, again from a Polish composer, that the musical world has been anticipating for nearly 40 years: the Fourth from Henryk Górecki, who died in 2010.
Górecki’s Symphony No. 4 is commissioned by the London Philharmonic Orchestra and Southbank Centre London, with generous support from the Adam Mickiewicz Institute, and the Los Angeles Philharmonic Association and Zaterdag Matinee Amsterdam.

Tickets £9 - £39 (Premium Seats £65)

1 person was there