London Philharmonic Orchestra live

Saturday 22 March 2014Past concert

London Philharmonic Orchestra, Joseph Swensen, and Liza Ferschtman


Church Street BN1 1UE Brighton, UK

Venue info and map

Share this event

Additional details

Doors open: 19:30

Wagner Siegfried Idyll
Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1
Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 5

The workings of fate were an obsessive theme for Tchaikovsky – in his private life and in his public music. As he grappled with his forbidden homosexuality, his failing health and his crippling self-doubt in the summer of 1888, Tchaikovsky sat down to write a symphony that he hoped would save him from 'the inscrutable design of providence'. And, for once, Tchaikovsky discovered the joy of optimism. The overwhelming theme of the Symphony was hope, communicated through music of typical power, emotion and brilliance. Before it, a piece concerned not so much with opposing forces as beauty and virtuosity: Bruch's spectacular Violin Concerto played by the brilliant Liza Ferschtman.

Tickets £10 - £32.50

1 person was there